First Book Review (and some introduction)

Once again, I find that it is summer time and I am bored. Perhaps, when deciding to be a teacher, I should have considered that I have always become miserable bored about half way through vacation.

In an effort to cure that boredom, I am going to share book reviews and pictures of my dog. This will quite possibly be something nobody ever sees, but at least I will keep myself amused!

 

Without further ado, here is my first review. I received this book from Netgalley, but that in no way reflects on my stated opinion.

Image  Goodreads   (Rated 4 out of 5 stars)

Although I often find non-fiction a little slow to get through, I raced through this book in just a day, although granted a day that included going to sleep rather late. There were some places in the book that felt rather repetitive, but overall the books was fun, funny, and educational. What else can a reader ask for?

Shane, the narrator, starts at the very beginning, and takes us up to current happenings at the time he wrote the memoir. To say the least, he includes the good, the bad, and the ugly. At times it felt like too much information, but even so, it helps paint a full picture. The narration has a fresh and direct tone no matter what is being discussed, and I found myself intrigued and surprised to find his perspective or way of explaining a topic makes it easy both to understand a situation I have never had to live through and to relate to his struggles without feeling bad that his situation is worse. This type of universality of humor as a means to deal with our problems seems to be his mission in his blog, non-profit, and life, and he has most certainly hit his mark.

If you are in the mood for some good non-fiction from a fresh voice (unless you already read his blog) with a unique and enlightening story to tell, check this one out! 

 

One thought on “First Book Review (and some introduction)

Leave a Reply

